flat layout design of bail bond concept

Statewide Bond Schedule

On January 1st, 2024 the state of Florida adopted a new Statewide Bond Schedule. The Bond Schedule is the default amount of a bond for someone who is arrested before they go to First Appearance. There are some charges, and some circumstances, under which someone will not get a bond until they see a judge for first appearance, and a bond is not always guaranteed at first appearance. The Statewide Bond Schedule is as follows:
  • For DUI – First Offense, $500. Second offense, $750. If there is property damage, a minor in the vehicle, or the defendant’s Blood Alcohol. Content is more than twice the legal limit, the bond is set at $1,000. Depending on the circumstances, defendants may face multiple charges for the same incident of DUI.
  • Second Degree Misdemeanor not involving violence: $150
  • Second Degree Misdemeanor involving violence: $250
  • First Degree Misdemeanor not involving violence: $500
  • First Degree Misdemeanor involving violence: $1,000
  • Third Degree Felony not involving violence: $2,500
  • Third Degree Felony involving violence: $5,000
  • Felonies higher than Third Degree: Defendant must go to first appearance.

As mentioned earlier, there are some circumstances that mean a defendant must go to First Appearance before a bond is assigned. These are as follows:

  • The defendant was arrested for a new felony charge while out on another bond, pretrial release, probation, or community control in the State of Florida or any other state. The defendant was, at the time of arrest, designated as a sexual offender or sexual predator.
  • The charge is for violating a protective order.
  • The defendant is on any kind of conditional or work release from custody.
  • The person has been arrested three or more times in the six months before their current arrest.
  • If the current offense is for any of the following crimes:
  • A capital felony, life felony, first degree felony, or second degree felony
  • A homicide or any attempt, solicitation, or conspiracy to commit a homicide
  • Assault during a riot
  • Felony battery
  • Domestic battery or any other domestic violence
  • Stalking
  • Mob intimidation
  • Assault or battery on law enforcement assault or health service personnel
  • Assault or battery where the victim is 65 years of age or older
  • Sexual battery, lewd or lascivious behavior, exposure of sexual organs
  • Child abuse or elder abuse
  • Abuse, neglect, or exploitation of the elderly
  • Arson or any kind of participation in a riot
  • Escape
  • Witness tampering and/or retaliation
  • Destruction of evidence
  • Any offense committed benefiting the interests of a criminal organization
  • Racketeering
  • Trafficking or conspiracy to engage in trafficking of a controlled substance
  • Failure to appear while on bail

If you have a warrant for any of these charges, or you have a loved one who has been arrested on these charges, they have the right to have an attorney appear for them at first appearance to discuss the bond set.

The full text of the changes is available here: